Friday Favorites: Bombay Edition

Hi everyone 🙂 I’m writing this post from sunny, summery New York City – the big day has come and gone, and I have officially moved back to start my Master’s in Magazine Journalism from NYU. Although New York is lovely, and I’ve had the best time meeting my friends from college and catching up with some of my old favorites, my last two weeks in Bombay were quite the whirlwind, to say the least. I don’t usually do Favorites, but I think it’s nice to share some of your obsessions once a month. Taking a leaf out of the book of a rather lovely blogger I know, I’ve decided to make this a regular feature. Featuring the best of August, this is my Five Favorites for Friday!

1. Wasabi by Morimoto at the Taj Mahal Hotel

Anyone who knows me even a little knows about my love for Japanese food – and especially my love for fusion Japanese! Luckily there is no shortage of Japanese food in New York, but my last two weeks were spent having a TON of miso black cod at one of my favorite restaurants in Bombay, called ‘Wasabi by Morimoto’ at the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel. Chef Morimoto has a restaurant after his namesake in New York as well, and he has been called the ‘Iron Chef’ due to his unique eclectic spin on Japanese food. Although expensive, each dish on the menu is a culinary delight. The fish is fresh and tasty, and the fusion of flavors always leaves you wondering how he does it. Besides the miso black cod, some of my favorite dishes involve a succulent yellow tail carpaccio in a lemon and caviar glaze and spicy avocado and salmon tacos. Also, don’t leave without trying the green tea fondant! It is absolutely divine.

2. Gossip Girl

Oh, Gossip Girl. This show is such a guilty pleasure of mine. Although the sixth and final season aired last year, I have been re-watching the series while running on the treadmill. It’s such a fun, mindless show to watch particularly because the drama is completely unrealistic. For those of you who have been living under a rock the past few years, Gossip Girl is a television show based on the book series of the same name by Cecily von Ziegesar, about a set of privileged, private school educated kids in the Upper East Side in Manhattan and their ubiquitous blogger/follower, Gossip Girl, who has nothing better to do than to broadcast all their secrets on social forums. Before you judge me too much, be aware that the clothes are divine, the views of Manhattan are amazing, and the drama is so mindless it takes any and all of your worries away. And when you’re panting away on the treadmill, some of that distraction (read: eye candy) is pretty appetizing! 🙂

3. Nights out with my loves

My last weekend in Bombay was spent mainly with friends and family, and obviously my last Saturday there was spent at none other than my favorite photo 2nightspot in the city – Aer at The Four Seasons Hotel. It is on the rooftop of the hotel, and is an amazing outdoor lounge. The view is breathtaking, and I love the way it looks – blue, violet and white lights everywhere, with a dance floor, glass and stone bars and the blinking Four Seasons logo overhead. And of course, you can’t forget the company I was with. Even though I’ve only known these girls (and everyone who was there isn’t in the picture, btw) for a few months through working at Conde Nast, they’ve grown to become some of my closest friends. I miss them so much!

4. My little sister and me, bonding over dinner

Despite the seven and a half-year age gap between us, my sister and I have always been quite close. In fact, I would argue that we became even closer after I went away for my undergraduate degree. It sucks being away from her, considering I’m pretty sure she’s the only person who knows everything about me and loves me anyway! 🙂 To bond, we did a sister dinner on my last night in Bombay at Fenix at the Oberoi, an amazing coffee shop with the most interesting sushi rolls imaginable. Fun and enjoyable, that catchup was much-needed, and I can’t wait to do it again soon.

photo 5

5. Massages at The Four Seasons Hotel, Mumbai

photo 3My back was killing me my last week in Bombay, and I didn’t want to go on a plane with a crick in my back and shoulders that would only get exacerbated on the long trip to New York. So, I thought what better way to get ready for what will be months of walking, working and exercising (hello, SOULCYCLE!) than getting a decadent massage. My favorite spa in Bombay is most definitely the one at the Four Seasons (clearly, I am a huge fan of that hotel!). They have a very extensive massage menu, involving massage techniques from both India (ayurvedic) as well as Thai, Balinese and Western styles. My favorite is the Tulaa massage, a deep pressure Asian-based massage, but the Sea Serenity massage, which uses heated clam shells instead of hot stones, is also one to try! They also have other types of treatments like facials and body polishes, and their changing room is bigger than my room at home! Featuring steams, showers, a pool, sauna, relaxation room with ginger tea and magazines, as well as a massive locker area, you can spend the day rejuvenating at the spa – which I most certainly did the week before I left! You should definitely check this spa out if you want to spoil yourself and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

One thought on “Friday Favorites: Bombay Edition

  1. Love the new blog installment- Friday Favorites are always fun to read! Your last couple of weeks in Bombay sounds great- sushi, drinks out with good friends, trashy TV and sister bonding = ideal! Please try the JIVA Spa at Wellington Mews when you are back- it is absolutely heavenly! My sis gets here in a couple of weeks and a spa day is on the agenda for the day after she arrives!

Leave a Reply

